• This Blog Is Inactive!

    On of May 8, 2009, I moved my blog over to a new domain: DaveSteinsBlog.ESResearch.com

    I will no longer be posting on this URL. Comments will not be moderated. More information.

  • ESR’s STVG

    Here is ESR's highly acclaimed Sales Training Vendor Guide, Third Edition.

LinkedIn 1,000,000,000+

LinkedInI like LinkedIn.  I’ve been using it more and more. It’s really good Sales 2.0 technology. I’ve even joined a few of the special interest groups.  Some smart people like Jill Konrath have written about getting the most from the tool.

What do I like about it?  I’m in the research business and I can do informal surveys to get a sense of what people are thinking.  I can get recommendations about vendors to consider evaluating for our clients.  I like to read the Questions to see what is on people’s minds and the Answers to see who’s got a new view of an old thing.  I get introductions to people I’d like to connect with.  I provide introductions for the people in my network.  That’s what it LinkedIn was designed to do.

I get a fair number of invitations to connect from people I don’t know. If I don’t remember having met the person, I reply, asking them to remind me how we know each other.  If we don’t actually know each other and we having nothing in common, I decline.  As graciously as possible.  Today I got a request for an endorsement from someone I’ve never directly worked with.  Knowing that kind of takes the credibility out of seeing a long list of endorsements for someone, right?

So what’s up with these people who collect MANY THOUSANDS of connections?  I don’t get it.  This is from one person’s profile:  “As a master rainmaker and leading networker with over 16,500 direct business connections on LinkedIn alone…”

Would someone tell me what having 16,500 direct business connections on LinkedIn does for someone? I’ve got an open mind.  I’m also interested in how many hours it would take someone to accumulate 16,500 direct business connections. 

Maybe I’m missing something. 

2 Responses

  1. I tend to agree, I continually decline invitations unless I see a purpose in the network connection. It has paid off since I have a network that is manageable yet focused on what I need. It would be nice to set up a couple of profiles to keep networks seperate.

  2. Dave – I’m new to your blog and catching up on some of your older posts.

    I feel compelled to say hi and comment that you aren’t missing anything.

    I too am in Linked In and do not connect with anyone I do not know or have not had a dialogue with. An individual who has thousands of connections is clearly only out to “collect connections” and feels that quantity is better than quality. I disagree with this mentality. If I’m going to connect with someone – I want it to be a meaningful connection.

    I look forward to following you further – thank you for the great content.

Leave a Reply

