• This Blog Is Inactive!

    On of May 8, 2009, I moved my blog over to a new domain: DaveSteinsBlog.ESResearch.com

    I will no longer be posting on this URL. Comments will not be moderated. More information.

  • ESR’s STVG

    Here is ESR's highly acclaimed Sales Training Vendor Guide, Third Edition.

Oh No! We’re Approaching “The End of…” Era

Mammals are the dominant creatures of Cenozoic.

Are we headed into the TheEndOf-Zoic era?

I’m still loving my Kindle

Last night I was reading a fantastic book: Roy Peter Clark’s Writing Tools: 50 Essential Strategies for Every Writer.  (Hopefully my blog posts and columns will be more enjoyable for you to read as a result.)  A good friend of mine had recommended that I read Fareed Zakaria’s The Post-American World.  So I went browsing through the Kindle bookstore from my Kindle (regretfully this feature has caused me to slide into instant gratification mode—something I have spent a fair amount of time and energy getting out of), and came upon a number of books whose titles all began with “The End of.”

Is this a sign that we are entering a new era?  Perhaps now, after the Paleozoic, Mesozoic, and the present Cenozoic era, we’re entering the TheEndOf-Zoic era.  You want evidence?  Here it is, in the form of just a few of the many book titles I found on Amazon with a quick search: 

  • The End of Poverty: Economic Possibilities for Our Time
  • The End of Food
  • The End of America: Letter of Warning to a Young Patriot
  • The End of Oil: On the Edge of a Perilous New World
  • The End of Faith: Religion, Terror, and the Future of Reason
  • The End of Days: Armageddon and Prophecies of the Return (The Earth Chronicles)
  • The End of Nature
  • The End of Reason: A Response to the New Atheists
  • The End of Iraq: How American Incompetence Created a War Without End
  • The End of History and the Last Man
  • The End of Memory: Remembering Rightly in a Violent World
  • The End of the Beginning: Being the Adventures of a Small Snail (and an Even Smaller Ant)
  • The End of Medicine: How Silicon Valley (and Naked Mice) Will Reboot Your Doctor
  • The End of Fashion: How Marketing Changed the Clothing Business Forever
  • The End of the Game: The Last Word from Paradise

So I’ll ask you again, are we entering a new era? 

Maybe I need an end-oscopy to find out.

Leave a Reply

