• This Blog Is Inactive!

    On of May 8, 2009, I moved my blog over to a new domain: DaveSteinsBlog.ESResearch.com

    I will no longer be posting on this URL. Comments will not be moderated. More information.

  • ESR’s STVG

    Here is ESR's highly acclaimed Sales Training Vendor Guide, Third Edition.

To: Blog Lurkers / Subj: What Are You Thinking?

Is that you lurking on my blog?

Is that you lurking on my blog?

Robin Fray Carey from The Customer Collective and I have been exhanging emails. TCC is a fine example of a Web 2.0 community.  I’m pleased to be part of it. 

I had asked Robin a question about the demographics of the 3,000 or so users on her site.  It seemed to me that they were mostly sales trainers and consultants.  Robin said the trainers and consultants are the open “critics,” but there were plenty of sales and marketing execs who were “lurkers.” 

Lurkers!  Being fairly new to blogging, that term caught me off guard.  Lurker.  Now that I think about it, I’m certainly guilty of lurking on some blogs and social networking sites.

Those of you who visit this blog either regularly or rarely, please take a minute and leave a comment to a post now and then.  The blog stats show this blog has been steadily increasing in traffic since I started it last April, so I know you’re out there. 

I’ll be equally as delighted whether you support or reject my position on the subjects I write about.  I’m just interested in what you’re thinking.  And I know other visitors to this blog would be, as well.

10 Responses

  1. Dave,

    I’d be very interested in seeing what response you get. Lately I’ve been watching the stats on my blog very carefully, analyzing the comments on the blog and the emails I receive about the blog, and although the blog gets strong traffic, I’m beginning to come to the conclusion that at least half the traffic–if not considerably more–is from sales trainers. That brings up the same question you’re asking–are we really talking to anyone other than each other?

  2. I lurk on Seth Godin’s blog all the time, I really like his style of writing and I keep finding topics that I want to expand on from a sales perspective… now that’s lurking and borrowing!

    Paul, I like that we talk with each other, doesn’t that make us the professionals that we are? I want to hear your opinion on this blog over some stranger who will never post again, your comments have more value to the readers.

    Sean

  3. Sean,

    If you’re picking up ideas from Seth’s blog and expounding on them on your blog (while including trackback links so Seth gets feedback), that’s not lurking–at least in my concept of the term.

  4. Sean,

    I agree that reading other trainer’s posts can help us by introducing new ideas, concepts and issues, giving a different perspective than our own, challenging our
    thinking. And don’t get me wrong, I’m pleased that my blog has attracted a number of other trainers and consultants. But at the same time, most of us–actually all of us–hope to connect with potential clients via our blogs.

    We’re writing to present what we believe to be information and ideasuseful to salespeople, managers, and companies. Not every post we write is going to be top quality–sometimes we miss the mark, sometimes we hit it directly. Hopefully we hit it enough of the time to make our blogs of real value to our readers.

    But if we’re not connecting with many outside the training industry maybe we’re missing something–or, maybe more specifically, I’m missing something as it appears my blog’s readership seems to be more than half industry folks.

  5. The term ‘Lurking’ sounds so sinister, but I would have to admit that the sheer time that it would take to post to every blog that I read or skim would take too long. I try and comment where appropriate to show appreciation for good articles as well as spark further debate.

  6. All,
    Looking at this article from McKinsey http://www.mckinseyquarterly.com/Building_the_Web_20_Enter.prise_McKinsey_Global_Survey_2174_abstract
    I am not too surprised about the experience we all have. According to the survey described in the article, only about 21% were very satisfied about how their companies use Web 2.0. An equal portion (22%) was though totally dissatisfied. Maybe adoption is slower than we all wish.

  7. Sorry I just noted that the link to the McKinsey quarterly is not working. You might want to try it via their home page.http://www.mckinseyquarterly.com/home.aspx.
    Sorry for the inconvenience

  8. I write my blog to benefit from it in two ways;
    1. I want to be a better sales professional and I find that writing helps me with that
    2. I know that if I continue my blog for 2-3 years I will have a wealth of knowledge that could turn into a consulting or coaching career… whatever it brings I know if I can grow it and start to formulate original thoughts with hundreds of posts then I’ll have something.

    I started http://first90days.wordpress.com/ just to see if the subject of ‘starting a new sales job’ could turn into an e-book or something more… conversely if the posts are uninspiring then I scrap it and move on… not much lost.

    I think a blog should be an extension of what you do, not only what you are doing.

    Sean

  9. Blog Lurking:

    Guilty as charged. Actually, as a sale professional your site a wonderful place to “lurk.” So, in the shadows no more I wanted to comment on your “What’s Really going on with Sales?”. Great perspective and certainly accurate from my over 25 years of experience. Having been on both sides of the table I have made these mistakes and seen them made.

    To me, once you go through this cycle it becomes appearant that change for the sack of change usually repeats itself. Strategic change, they type that actually delivers improved results needs to be supported or driven by the product or services you are oferring.

    A new sales VP can change personnel and process. Change in product or service is what will drive a true difference in results rather than just changing the optics.

    We all know it is linked with many interdependencies. If a new sales leader performs an objective market assessment of they will understand if success is possible.

    So, this was my first post and commit to sharing when I feel my insight/opinion is worthwhile.

    Lorne

  10. I am shocked!

    I would think that ES Research would perform due diligence before they endorse any company. It shocks me to see that have not done the due diligence.

    I recently saw that you are recommending Action Selling. Are you aware that major elements of their sales process are a direct copy of Max Sacks International’s Track Selling System?

    Yes, Duane Sparks had been part owner of Currentech. And yes, he was a strong supporter of sales training. What he left out of his Web site was that he was one of my clients for a number of years before selling Currentech going back to 1983/1984 and for several years thereafter.

    What he left out was that I worked with his sales team almost every month.

    He told me that he would love to do what I do whenever he sold his computer company. Little did I know that he would do exactly what I was doing.

    At the time I had been Vice President of Max Sacks International and in 1992 started my own company at which time I became a distributor of Max Sacks International.

    Look at the page entitled Buyer/Seller Relations. Then go to http://www.Maxsacks.com and look at the 5 Buying Decisions. Exactly the same.

    Look at the page entitled Presentation Skills. Then go to the Max Sacks Web site and look at the 7 Steps to Selling. You will notice that 7 of Action Selling’s 9 steps are labeled exactly the same or essentially the same.

    Dave, you should carefully consideration the ethics of the companies you endorse – whether explicit or implied.

    Al

Leave a Reply

