• This Blog Is Inactive!

    On of May 8, 2009, I moved my blog over to a new domain: DaveSteinsBlog.ESResearch.com

    I will no longer be posting on this URL. Comments will not be moderated. More information.

  • ESR’s STVG

    Here is ESR's highly acclaimed Sales Training Vendor Guide, Third Edition.

LinkedIn Or Plaxo? A Survey

Update (12/15/08): Too view the results of the survey, click “View Results” on survey tool.

I’ve been using LinkedIn a lot recently.  I’ve been recommending it to clients as well.

View Dave Stein's profile on LinkedInIn my blog post What’s In Your Salesreps’ LinkedIn Profiles? I suggested that salespeople should use LinkedIn, not as an online resume, but as a chronological accounting of the value they’ve delivered to their customers and markets.  That’s what I’ve done on my LinkedIn profile.  That personal branding should serve to differentiate them from their competition through articulation of their business value.

That salesrep would build a profile that was customer-value oriented instead.  They would list the companies (or profiles of companies if confidentiality were an issue) to which they had sold their products and services to in the past.  The rep’s profile would outline initiatives, projects, etc.  The reps would get recommendations from people in those accounts who would acclaim the rep’s honesty, business savvy, determination, and desire to see the customer succeed.  Once a rep had developed a LinkedIn profile like that, they would attach the “See My LinkedIn Profile” button to their email signature, inviting customers to click on it.

Well, right now (at least when I wrote this) LinkedIn is having some technical problems.  It’s been going on for well over a week.  I feel for them.  I really do.  But searches often don’t work.  And updating my profile has been a nightmare.

So, while I was waiting for LinkedIn to resolve their technical problems, I spent a bit of time on Plaxo.  I’ve been getting invited to connect by colleagues and friends for a while now.  I can’t see maintaining both.

I’m interested in your preference for business/social networking.  Please vote and then tell us which you prefer and why in a comment…

3 Responses

  1. Hi Dave – I prefer LinkedIn. In fact, I blogged about it myself this morning: http://intrepid-llc.com/2008/11/28/daily-e-journal-big-mistake-to-stay-on-social-media-sidelines/

    Nothing against Plaxo, I have never used it. I try to limit myself on my social networking tools, since it is hard enough to manage the few I use regularly.

    But I am a fan of LinkedIn, and the more I use it and the more I learn about it, it is a good tool.

  2. I use Facebook for social ties, and LinkedIn as a professional network. I like your idea of making your profile a record of projects and successes, recorded as you achieve them. Like a “real-time” resume.

    I also agree with you Dave, having two to maintain is too much. But – what if someone created an app that would allow you to update several profiles (say, LInkedIn and Plaxo) at the same time?

  3. Hi Dave,

    I have tried to join linkedin for three months now and have not been able to creat a profile. Everytime I try to create it one I get an error message. I contacted LinkedIn and got an email saying they received my request and if no one had resolved my issue within 30 days to resubmit my issue. Seriously?! To me this is horrible customer service and way to long for any website to have the same unresolved technical problems. I googled LinkedIn and apparantly I’m not the only one who has had problems and gone months without hearing back from technical support. I would not recommend this site and will continue to use Plaxo. There are just too many options out there to continue to use a subpar website as a business tool.

Leave a comment